Learning, meaning and identity

« Engagement in social practice is the fundamental process by which we learn and so become who we are » Etienne C. Wenger, 1952.

  1. VIA Institute on Character

    VIA Institute on Character

    Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, the VIA Institute on Character is a non-profit organization dedicated to bringing the science of character strengths to the world. VIA Institute does so by creating and validating surveys of character, supporting researchers, and developing practical strengths-based tools for individuals and professionals, such as therapists, managers and educators. In this spirit, the VIA Survey is offered free of charge worldwide in many languages.

    The mission of the VIA Institute on Character is to help people change their lives and live more fully by tapping into the power of their own greatest strengths.

  2. International Coach Federation

    International Coach Federation

    Formed in 1995, the International Coach Federation (ICF) is the leading global organization dedicated to advancing the coaching profession by setting high standards, providing independent certification and building a worldwide network of trained coaching professionals.

    ICF defines coaching as partnering with clients in a thought-provoking and creative process that inspires them to maximize their personal and professional potential.

  3. Project Management Institute

    Project Management Institute

    The Project Management Institute (PMI) is the world’s leading not-for-profit professional membership association for the project, program and portfolio management profession. Founded in 1969, PMI delivers value for over one million professionals working in nearly every country in the world through global advocacy, collaboration, education and research. PMI advances careers, improves organizational success and further matures the profession of project management through its globally recognized standards, certifications, resources, tools, academic research, publications, professional development courses, and networking opportunities.

  4. Change Management Institute

    Change Management Institute

    The Change Management Institute (CMI) is a global, independent, not for profit association of change professionals. It was created by and is operated by members for members, constantly striving to push the boundaries of the change management profession.

  5. Order of Interbeing

    Order of Interbeing

    The Order of Interbeing (OI) is a community of monastics and lay people who have committed to living their lives in accord with the Fourteen Mindfulness Trainings, a distillation of the Bodhisattva (Enlightened Being) teachings of Mahayana Buddhism. Established by Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh in Saigon in 1966, the OI was founded in the Linji tradition of Buddhist meditative practice and emphasizes the Four Spirits: non-attachment from views, direct experimentation on the nature of interdependent origination through meditation, appropriateness, and skillful means.